Annex 12 Acronyms

List of Acronyms

ANA: National Water Agency, Brazil **CAF:** Andean Development Corporation

CARP: Commission for the Administration of the la

Plata River, Argentina-Uruguav

CARU: Commission for the Administration of the

Uruguay River, Argentina-Uruguay

CDM-MDL: Clean Development Mechanisms

CdP: la Plata River Basin

CIC: Intergovernmental Coordinating Committee

for the la Plata Basin countries

CIH: Intergovernmental Committee for the

Paraguay-Paraná Waterway.

CIMA: Meteorological and Atmospheric Research

Centre, Argentina

COMIBOL: Mining Commission, Bolivia **CONICET**: National Council of Science and

Technology, Argentina

CPTEC/INPE/MMA: Weather Forecast and

Climate Studies Centre, Brasilia

CRAS-INA: Regional Groundwater Centre,

Argentina

DNH: National Hydrographic Directorate, Uruguay **DRENARE**: Renewable Resources Directorate,

DSA: Agriculture Soils Directorate, Uruguay DSD: Department of Sustainable Development -

EBY: Yacyretá Binational Entity, Argentina-Uruguay

EMBRAPA: Brazilian Agricultural Research

Enterprise, Brazil

ENSO El Niño Southern Oscillation

FICH: Hydro Sciences Engineering Faculty, Littoral National University, Argentina

FONPLATA: Fund for the Development of the la Plata Basin.

FREPLATA: Environmental Protection Project of the la Plata River and its Maritime Front.

FRAMEWORK: Framework Strategic Action

Programme

GDP: Gross Domestic Product **GEF**: Global Environment Facility **GHG:** Green house gas emissions

GIWA: Global International Waters Assessment

IBAMA: Brazilian Environment and Renewable

Natural Resources Institute, Brazil

IMFIA: Institute of Fluid Mechanics and Environmental Engineering, Uruguay INA: National Water Institute, Argentina INIA: Agricultural Research Institute, Uruguay

IHP: International Hydrologic Program

INEMET/MAPA: National Meteorological

Institute, Brazil

INPE: National Space Research Institute, Brazil

INTA: National Institute for Agricultural

Technology, Argentina

IPCC: Intergovernmental Panel for Climate Change IPH: Hydraulic Research Institute, UFRS, Brazil ISARM-Américas: Management of Shared Transboundary Aquifer Resources Programme **ISP**: Inter-American Strategy for the Promotion of Public Participation in Sustainable Development

ITAIPU: Itaipu Binational, Brazil-Paraguay. **LART**: Regional Laboratory for Analysis and Telemetry, Argentina

MDS: Ministry for Sustainable Development,

Bolivia

MERCOSUR: Southern Common Market MTOP: Ministry of Transport and Public Works, Uruguay

NPU: National Project Units

OAS: Organization of American States **OSC**: Civil Stakeholders Organization **OTCA**: Amazonian Cooperation Treaty Organization

PK: Kyoto Protocol

SAP: Strategic Action Program

SAYTT: Yrendá-Toba-Tarijeño Aquifer System SEAM: Environment Secretariat, Paraguay SEDEC: National Civil Defense Secretariat, Brazil

SENAMHI: National Meteorological and

Hydrological Service, Bolivia

SENASA: National Sanitary and Quality Agrofoods Service, Argentina

SIFEM: Federal National Emergency System,

SMNs: National Meteorological Systems **TDA**: Transboundary Diagnostic Analysis UBA: University of Buenos Aires, Argentina **UDELAR**: University of the Republic, Uruguay UFRGS: Federal University of Río Grande do Sul,

UFPR: Federal University of Paraná, Brazil **UNA:** National University of Asunción, Paraguay **UNEP**: United Nations Environment Programme **UNFCCC**: United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change

USP: University of São Paulo, Brazil WMO: World Meteorological Organization

WSSD: World Summit on Sustainable Development